Elvis Costello uses Latin music artists to record the Spanish version of his 1978 album “This Year’s Model”


Elvis Costello enlisted some of the world’s greatest artists in Latin music to create a Spanish language reimagining his second studio effort from 1978, This year’s model.

The new album, titled Spanish model, will be released on September 10 and will include all of the songs from This year’s model plus select other tracks from the sessions on this disc, with the different Latin artists singing the lyrics of the songs in Spanish to the original music played by Costello and his band The attractions.

Costello collaborated on the project with the winner of the Latin Grammy Producer of the Year Sebastien krys, who remixed the This year’s model tracks from the original original recordings.

“Part of the fun of this project is its unexpected nature,” Elvis says. “However, I think the people in my audience who paid attention are now quite used to surprises.”

colombian rock star Juanes‘Costello’s interpretation of the classic “Pump It Up” was released as an advanced digital single by Spanish model, and an accompanying music video debuted on Costello’s official YouTube channel.

“‘Pump It Up’ is such an iconic and iconic song from Elvis’ incredible repertoire that it was such an honor to have the chance to sing along with the original 1978 recording and be a part of that propelling energy,” Juanes said.

Other artists who contributed to the album include Luis Fonsi, Sebastien yatra and Camisole.

Spanish model will be available on CD, digitally and as a 180 gram vinyl LP. A new remastered version of This year’s model will also be released on September 10. In addition, a set of two limited edition LPs pairing the remastered original album with Spanish model will be available exclusively through ElvisCostello.com, uDiscoverMusic.com and the Sound of Vinyl website.

Here is the Spanish model track list:

“No action” – Nina Diaz
“(Yo No Quiero Ir a) Chelsea” (“[I Don’t Want to Go to] Chelsea “) – Raquel Sofia y Fuego
“Yo Te Vi” (“The Rhythm”) – Drago Rosa
“Pump It Up” – Juanes
“Détonantes” (“Small triggers”) – La Marisoul
“Tu Eres Para Mi” (“You belong to me”) – Luis Fonsi
“Hand in hand” – Francisca Valenzuela and Luis Humberto Navejas
“La Chica de Hoy” (“This Year’s Girl”) – Cami
“Mentira” (“Lips of service”) – Pablo López
“Viviendo en el Paraiso” (“Living in Paradise”) – Jesse & Joy
“Vogue Lipstick” – Murten
“La Turba” (“Night rally”) – Jorge Drexler
“Llorar” (“Big tears”) – Sebastián Yatra
“Radio-Radio” – Fito Páez
“Crawling in the United States” – Gian Marco and Nicole Zignago
“Se Esta Perdiendo la Inocencia” (“Short of angels”) – Vega

Copyright © 2021, ABC Audio. All rights reserved.

Source link

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.